A late fee of $5.00 shall be assessed the owner of each dog 5 months of age or older who fails to obtain a dog license by April 1, 2020
Notice to All Portage County Dog Owners
Pursuant to Section 174.052, Wisconsin Statutes, notice is given to all owners of dogs in Portage County that rabies vaccinations and dog licenses are required under the statutes.
Vaccination by a veterinarian against rabies of all dogs is required (Section 95.21 (2)) within 30 days after the dog reaches 4 months of age and re-vaccinated within one year of the initial vaccination. Older vaccinated dogs must be re-vaccinated when the certificate expires within 3 years of the previous vaccination. Certificates of current vaccination must be presented when obtaining dog licenses.
Section 174.07(1)(a) of the Wisconsin State Statutes requires evidence that a dog is currently immunized against rabies before a dog license can be issued.
All dogs 5 months of age or older require a license. The minimum license fee for neutered males or spayed females is $15.00 upon presentation of evidence attesting to the same, and $25.00 for the un-neutered male or un-spayed female dog. These minimums may be supplemented by local municipal action.
A late fee of $5.00 shall be assessed the owner of each dog 5 months of age or older who fails to obtain a dog license by April 1.
The fine for failure to obtain a dog license or failure to have a dog vaccinated against rabies is $169.00.
Dog licenses may be obtained from your municipal treasurer.
Shirley Simonis, Portage County Clerk
As mentioned above, municipalities may supplement the license fee of $10/$20 due the County. Park Ridge adds $5 per license for printing/processing applications and printing/mailing licenses.